Naturally Curious Me

My natural hair journey

Bentonite Clay Wash

It’s been a while. And once again I apologize.
It’s just been a busy couple of months (I’m an Aunty now by the way. Yayyy me) but i have actually been getting stuff done so my next couple of posts would be from the past. Just wanna catch up to what I’m doing right now.

So I walked into the L’Espace beauty bar (Olosa Str, off Karimu Kotun, VI) and found out they carry Kinky Apothecary products. Yayyyy!!!
So I got 2 packs of Henna and 1 of Bentonite Clay.
I’ve heard a lot about using clays/mud to wash/cleanse your hair and I must say I was very interested.
Bentonite clay draws out toxins. Something about positive and negative charges (can you tell how much I don’t love chemistry?) So it basically clings to dirt and build up and so when you wash it out, the dirt and toxins get washed out as well.
Some people apparently even drink/eat it to detoxify their insides (this is the point where I feel the need to put in a disclaimer. I’m not an expert or even close. If you want to eat/drink anything, please make sure it has nothing to do with this statement. Do your research and consult a medical practitioner! Thanks!)

That weekend (after much research on Natural hair blogs) I got to it.
In a bowl, I mixed the bentonite clay (100g) with apple cider vinegar and aloe Vera gel. I didn’t measure. Just kept adding till it was a spreadable consistency.

20131024-112028.jpg

20131024-131226.jpg

After finger detangling and sectioning my hair, I proceeded to apply the clay. Just went line by line in each section until my whole head was covered.
Even had enough left over for my face πŸ™‚

20131024-132147.jpg

Rinsed out in the shower. This took quite a while to make sure it was all out.
My hair felt fabulous afterwards. All soft and silky and clean (not that dry squeaky feeling) and awesome.
Actually didn’t even use a conditioner to detangle in the shower.

Rubbed in some of my Shea butter mix (Shea butter, aloe Vera gel and oils like coconut, castor and avocado) and braided my hair in 4(?) large plaits to air dry.
Covered with a satin bonnet and went to bed.

Had my hair in a high puff all week.

Details:
L’Espace is located at No 19 Olosa Street, off Karimu Kotun, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Check out the following links for more info on Bentonite clayCurlyNikki
Natural Nigerian

πŸ™‚

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

