Naturally Curious Me

My natural hair journey

Rub a dub scrub

I had been rocking my ‘faux locs’ for a couple of weeks when the itching started. First it was something I could ignore but I caught my fingers in my hair a couple of times and knew it was time to do something about it.

I turned to my trusty pals- Google and YouTube, for help. I got a LOT of info about cleaning your hair while in braids or locs. I decided to go with the Baking soda and Apple cider vinegar approach.

What you will need:
Baking soda
Apple cider vinegar- 1 cup
A very soft toothbrush (I used a baby’s toothbrush)
Hair ties

What to do:
Tie up your braids/locs in a loose ponytail.

20130227-112528.jpg

Mix the baking soda with water until you get a light paste.

Remove one braid at a time from the ponytail to work with. This would ensure you don’t miss a spot. Using the toothbrush, apply a little bit of the baking soda paste to your scalp and scrub gently.

When you’ve gotten to every braid its time to rinse it out.

IMG_0560

 Mix the Apple cider vinegar with 2-3cups of water and apply to your scalp.
Rinse thoroughly with water and let your hair dry.

I applied a mix of Jojoba and tea tree oil to my scalp afterward.

The itching was gone and I had the locs in for another month with no itching at all.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

