Naturally Curious Me

My natural hair journey

Gunk

Till this evening’ I’ve had a really good week hair wise. Enjoyed having my hair out and got some compliments (Yayyyy me πŸ™‚ ) and some (1 actually) complaints.
Last Wednesday I loosened kinky braids I’d had for 2 months πŸ™‚ . I put in a mix of conditioner and olive oil 30 mins before I started loosening and it was great. Hardly and breakage and my hair was super soft. Washed with black soap, deep conditioned and put it in twists. Took out the twists on Saturday cost I was going out and my hair looked awesome πŸ™‚

My daily routine has been to basically mist with a water (distilled), aloe Vera gel and glycerin, rub in a minute quantity of coconut oil then shea butter. I do this a couple of times a day.
Today I decided to wash my hair, travelling on Thursday, don’t wanna stress myself out on Wednesday so I coated my hair with conditioner (same conditioner I used last week), washed with black soap, put in some more conditioner and rinsed out.

The result was gunk. And by gunk, I mean some whitish thing speckling my hair. So I decided to rinse out again with hotter water, got marginally better. Washed again with shampoo and it got a lot better but wasn’t totally clear so I washed again.

I don’t know what caused it πŸ˜₯
I don’t want alien material in my hair.
What I’ve done differently recently is that since Sunday, insrptead of just coconut oil, I’ve used a mix of coconut, olive, grapeseed, avocado and jojoba (pronounced hohoba) oils. Haven’t had a problem with it.

I also decided to try my eco styler gel this evening. I basically rubbed it through my hair just before I put in the conditioner, that’s probably the culprit 😦 At least I hope it is.

PS the sun has meant business the past couple of days

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Gunk

  1. Gunk eh? Perhaps it was the gel. I have never used it before but would be suprised that it doesn’t wash out well – not good for business. It is really annoying having flecks in one’s hair. Using hot water doesn’t help your hair.

    I like your routine. Sounds simple and effective. Aloe vera gel is my moiturizer of choice (after water).

Leave a Reply

